Reflections of We (poem)

She knocks from the glass, everyday from the glass.  A reflection aching to escape.

I fear her eyes. Their knowing gleam.

In her visage is my weakness of spirit, of mind, of soul. She is stronger than I.

No longer is she kind, soft or polite. A fist on glass, a small crack.

I tape the hole, cover it up. Don’t let them see she is breaking through, taking the place of me.

I am nice. A good girl. See me smile?

Ignore her pleading. Close your ears to that scream. It is nothing, just a bad day.

The dam is built of tape and glue and bubble gum. It can not hold. She is me. She is free. My world changes.

I am We.

 

Leave a Reply

