Take Off-Part 2 (Short Story)

I caught the pilot and two flight attendants by surprise, mid chat. The nasally voiced brunette jumped and gave a tiny “eep”. I smiled.

In a condescending stewardess tone, the tiny red-head told me, “Oh Ma’am, were going to need everyone to move along to the front desk. Thank you, have a nice day now.” She turned back to her conversation without even seeing if I walked away. “I can’t belie..”

I interrupted, “So what’s the real time-table here? If it’s going to be longer than a couple of hours, I’d like to know.” The red-head spouted another customer service line, this time her cheery tone was noticeably strained. “I’m sure they’ll get this all sorted out very soon. You just need to go into the terminal and ask them. Hurry along.”

Ignoring the advice of the woman and leveled my stare at the pilot. “What do you think Sir?” He lifted his pilot cap, smoothed his hair, and replaced it before answering, “Get a car and head to Dallas, it’s your best bet to get out of here and on your way quickly. We haven’t even been able to get the company on the line yet to tell them. So yeah, get to Dallas, it’s where we were headed anyway.”

I reached out and shook his hand, “Thank you for your honesty and for getting us here safely.” Then I went in search of the luggage pick up.

After retrieving Mother’s ancient suitcase, I followed the signs a short way to the customer service desk, which happened to also be the car rental place. It was truly a tiny airport.

Roughly fifty people stood in line behind the asshole from my row as he screamed at the clerk. “Explain to me again, how the fuck..”

The older woman held up her hand and in a Texas drawl, stopped his rant. “Sir, as I’ve asked before. Please refrain from using profanity.”

“Fine. How do you have no working cars!? Clear enough for you?”

She sighed, “I am sorry for the inconvenience but none of the vehicles are operational at the moment. We don’t know why or how, but we’ve got our best mechanics on it as we speak. Not to mention, the power is out and the computers are down. I couldn’t rent to you even if we had one to rent.” She spoke more to the crowd then directly to the man in the suit. From the look on his face, he wasn’t pleased by it. Well that put the damper on my escape plans for a while. Now it was going to be a long wait in a small Texas town.

The clerk added in her cheeriest tone,”Y’all can get a bite at Biggy’s Bar and Grill at the end the terminal. They have a generator working.” I hadn’t even noticed the loss of power because of the building’s skylights. Weird.

I was hungry so I hauled my stuff over before the crowd showed up. Turns out Biggy’s was more bar than grill. I sat at the counter and ordered a sweet tea and ham sandwich, one of only three dishes they served. Five minutes go by and a tall, sandy-haired cowboy slides onto the stool beside mine. He orders a seven and seven, then another. I eat my dry sandwich. After his third drink in twenty minutes, he happens to notice my presence. “Well hello, Ma’am. You are a handsome woman.”

I sat stunned. Was that a compliment or not? I really wasn’t sure. “Oh, uh thank you, you too.” I immediately realized my mistake and blushed. He didn’t seem to notice my blunder, “You on the big jet that broke down out there?”

“Not anymore.” I answered honestly.

He laughed at my non-joke and placed his arm around my shoulders. Leaning far into my personal bubble, speaking low and raspy, he asked “Want to kill some time at my place pretty lady?” The goose bumps that ran down my body began a new, quiet ache in my gut. He took my silence as apprehension and tickled my ear with his lips to further tempt me. “No one needs to know baby.”

Fuck it. This was the beginning of my new life, the new me. I was making the choices now, and I chose to not be a timid, thirty-two year old virgin anymore. I nodded slowly then cleared my throat, “Okay. Let’s go.”

He was off his chair and helping me with my bags in seconds. His exuberance helped boost my ego. The handsome cowboy actually wanted to have sex with mousey, old me. I couldn’t fathom why, but I was not one to look a gift horse in the mouth. We were headed to the parking lot. I hadn’t thought about how we were going to get to his house. He’d been drinking, but his demeanor didn’t seem like he was drunk. I decided I would take this chance also. We walked to an ancient ford truck and he pulled the door open with a loud creak. Before I got in I said, “Wait.” His broad smile dropped and he asked, “You change your mind darlin?”

“Oh, no. Just. What’s your name?” I smiled, a bit embarrassed that I had to ask.

He tipped his hat, “Dylan Harkin, Ma’am”

“I’m Sarah Mosbin” I curtsied like an idiot and hopped into the truck.

He got in the driver’s seat and looked over at me. “Pleased to meet you, Sarah Honey.” Then he winked and I almost jumped him right there in the cab of the truck. This experience was long overdue.

The drive to his ranch house took twenty minutes and a few dirt roads. Heading out of town, I could see the power was out everywhere, not really surprising since they were probably all on the same grid.

I walked in behind him and was delighted at how nicely arranged it was. Usually you hear of bachelor pads as being shitholes. But it was the twenty-first century, men knew how to do housework now.

He went around flipping switches that didn’t work. “Powers out here too. Hmm. I guess we’ll be using candle light.” I found it a blessing. I didn’t need him looking too closely at my body. I’d never gotten rid of the ten pounds Mother always said I was carrying. I didn’t want to disgust him. “That’s okay. Could we just, um… go to the bedroom?”

“Yes, Ma’am. Sounds good to me.” I followed him to his room, my knees getting weaker with each step. I took three deep breaths to get back in control. I wanted this so badly.

There was light seeping past the blinds, so I gasped as he pulled the black tee over his head. All the lovely dips and swells of his muscular torso begged for me to touch. I really wanted to feel the texture of his skin then skim a finger over his tightened nipple. Coming closer, he picked me up for our first kiss, my first kiss. The heat of his naked skin came right through my silk blouse. That ache in my gut that began earlier, moved lower and throbbed harder every time his tongue slid against mine. I suddenly had the desperate urge to meld our bodies together.

My top and long skirt somehow ended up on the floor. Being in front of Dylan wearing nothing but my underwear and bra made me regret that they weren’t sexier. Just plain white and boring, all Mother would allow. I shook my head to rid my mind of the foul woman. He didn’t seem to mind at all, so I let it slip from my thoughts. There were much nicer things to think of at the moment. Like how delicious his neck was and how small and beautiful I felt in his arms. He directed me onto the bed and laid beside me. I realized his pants were gone and his thin boxers were the only barrier between him and my hip. To my embarrassment, I began to tremble. Dylan noticed and looked me in the eye, “This your first time with someone other than your husband?”

I blushed, “I..I don’t..Yes, something like that.”

“It’s alright, I’ll take good care of you honey. Just relax.” I smiled and he slid a hand into my bra. I closed my eyes and concentrated on the storm of sensations building inside me.

It all came crashing to a halt with the chuk-chuk of a shotgun being loaded.

Then Dylan asked in a trembling voice, “Kelly, why are you home?!” Then under his breath…”Fuck!”

.

Take Off       (Short Story)

Take Off – #3 The End     (Short Story)

Picture is from pintrist.

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Take Off-Part 2 (Short Story)

  1. Ah! A) totally a creepy way to pick her up I was tending towards the he’s gonna be a crazed murderer or supernatural creature or some shit (just, cuz, you know… it’s one of your stories and it wouldn’t surprise me too much if that was the case lol) B) once it seemed like maybe it wasn’t and maybe she’d finally get some you ripped it away from her – sad face… #foreveravirgin lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha same same… especially to my husband! Every now and then people ask me when I’m gonna have more and I say I’m done… they inevitably say I might change my mind or you never knoooow blah blah blah… I say if I do turn up pregnant, Hubby would divorce me since I wouldn’t be able to convince him it’s his since he’s had a vasectomy! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same here! Lol
        I’ve got 2 and it’s perfect for me. I don’t know how some of my friends have the energy to start over with babies in their late thirtys.
        I think I’ll just wait for grand babies in the far future (better be!). Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly! I’ve got two as well and I don’t know if I even have the energy for them, let alone any more at this point 😂 Hubby kinda wanted more, but I was like… Nope, I’m done! And he had volunteered to go under the knife whenever we decided we were done so I called him up on it!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It’s nice being younger with kids that can care for themselves for the most part (ie. Wipe their own butts. Lol). But kudos to the mommies having kids in their forties, they are freakin superheros or on some great energy drinks. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Seriously! As a youth I babysat and then au paired for a family who ended up having 4 kids under 5 (set of twins in there) and the mum was late 30s when she started… over 40 by the last kid… and she got on the playgrounds with them and everything! I didn’t even have that kind of energy and I was 17-19 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Haha I hear that! Right before I had my daughter I was a nanny for triplet 1 yr olds and their mom was 40!
        She had a 19yr old son and she adopted her 4yr old sister who had a severely schizophrenic mother (different mom and she inherited some problems) and the woman still decided to have triplets at that age. Hell to the no! For me. But I guess if you can afford a nanny and the mom doesn’t work, why not!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Definitely a plus to have a nanny… but heck no. Kinda wish sometimes I got pregnant earlier to have them older by now and closer to 18… (my oldest turns 8 this year and I had her at 26) but then again I probably would have been feeling all the more tied down earlier and that’s hard enough to deal with right now

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I never would want a nanny, but id say double yes to a housekeeper!
        I was pregnant with my oldest on my 21st bday. Kind of a drag. But I did most of my wild years from 15 to 20. (Which, thinking of my daughter who just turned 13, scares the shit outta me!)
        But I didn’t feel like I missed out on much by then. I made sure to put a nice 6 year gap between them though.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Definitely yes to a housekeeper omg! I’ve had them in the past (as a kid) along with Nannies… I’m sure my mum thought they were godsends! My kids are only 2 yrs apart and it’s not so much about wanting wild times again, it’s more about the freedom to get up and go – do whatever I want on a whim. Getting to go to kickboxing or out to lunch with a friend without worrying about if hubby is working or has plans…

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Yea, the time will come though. Its got to be especially hard with all the moving around. I’ve just got mine to the point where I have my daughter watch my son when we go on short dates. It is nice. Or if I need to go to the store, I can leave them at home and go real quick. She is a responsible motherly type and naturally watches after him anyway, which is cool.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, grippingness maintained… (Not sure that works) but you confused me with…
    ‘men knew how to do housework now.’ What jiggory pokery is this? House what now?
    Just kidding, but we should have guessed a tidy home meant a woman would turn up with a shot gun…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

