Just Another Apocalypse Diary Day 12   (Short Story Series)

I am sitting on a rock overlooking a beautiful valley, just being where Tim and Brittany are not. It is unbelievably nauseating to hear them together. I’m happy that Tim’s happy, but I’ve even caught Bob rolling his eyes at B’s baby talk. He’s a grown ass man, for the most part, don’t fucking talk to him like he’s two. It’s disgusting!

So, me and Jim are just hanging out watching the goings on in the Pinnacles National Park. I have already picked a new favorite plaguer, named him Ranger Rick. Because, you know he’s got a rangers outfit on, the top half anyway. That’s right, all buttoned up spiffy on top then nada but white socks and hiking boots on the bottom. He’s a tall and uhem…rather large man, if you get my drift. I’m baffled why I find watching a plaguer walk jerkily, half-nude, through the fields so entertaining but I honestly do. Nothing sexual of course, I’m no necrophiliac, it’s more of a three stooges factor. He circles the field below and when he runs after a rabbit, I laugh hysterically. It’s nice.

I suppose I’ll have to head back to the cabin sometime today. Show my face for dinner at least. Bob’s under the weather a little today and I know that if I’m not there to cook, he’ll do it.


There is news. While I was off enjoying time away from the lovebirds, they joined a damn safety group. Six guys in a white van found the place by following the stove smoke and wanted to “offer” for Tim and Brittany to join their group where they have community, a safe place, plenty of food and fap, fap, fap. You’re a sucker! Who the fuck follows strangers into a white van! Come on!

I only know all this because Bob was still there when I got back. I seriously could not believe Tim just left his grandfather like that. I have sworn to kick the fool in the nuts the next time I see him. Anyway, I guess Brittany wanted to go (no surprise there!) and Tim didn’t feel comfortable having her go off unprotected. The six men wouldn’t let Bob go with them because of his slight old man cough and so Bob told them that we would follow them later, when he got better. So at least we know where these douches are. I say douches because they stole ninety percent of our food. Real nice huh.

Well since they know where to find us, and Bob’s cough has been getting worse, I decided to move closer to the hot springs. Some people claim they help heal you. I don’t know about that but I figure that at the very least, the steam and heat will be good for him. The walk up to it was extremely slow, I hadn’t realized how bad and quickly this cold hit him. The house I found has a secure bedroom on the second floor that seems to hang onto daytime heat. I think we’ll be okay for warmth tonight.

It asked Bob more about the men that came while I unpacked. “Were they military, you think?”

“No, I would guess civilian. I’d bet my pinkie on the fact that the guys at the top are ex military, though.”

“Most likely, I just hope it’s what they think it will be. Tim’s strong and can work, but I doubt they will be okay with Brittany sitting on her ass and eating their food. When I’ve checked out places like that before, they were all run like a labor camp. Safety was a joke.” Bob coughed wetly and I put down my pack to feel his forehead.

“I’m sorry, I don’t want to upset you. It may be on the up and up…Hey, you got yourself a fever. I have a few pain killers and I’ll go find some other meds before it gets too dark.” He didn’t argue my extra trip alone and that said a lot about how sick he felt. I shouldn’t have made him hike, but I really think the springs will be good for him.


Most of the places to the south had been looted, but I found a Sedan crashed in the ditch with a pharmacy bag in the back that had one of the medications he needed. I had to take care of an old lady strapped in the front and I couldn’t keep the fear that Bob might actually die from my thoughts. People his age went easily. Parts just gave out for no reason sometimes! I took a deep breath and switched to more positive thoughts. He had a strong spirit, it would keep him kicking. He had me and I wouldn’t give up on him.

The expectorant was the hardest to find. I ran around to ten houses, casing, clearing and sneaking in and out. It all took way longer than I expected and I was out untill almost midnight.

I’m embarrassed to say it spooked me to be out alone at night again. Just a little. I kept seeing movement out of the corner of my eye and hearing shuffling at strange times. I doubled back, to check if I was being followed, but there was nobody. I began regretting leaving Jim with Bob, but I know he liked the comfort and Jim preferred snuggling to pillaging.

When I got back poor Bob was burning up. I gave him a few different things to help with the fever and it luckily dropped back to a normal range within a half hour. He is able to sleep, at least until I have to dose him again. I’d better get to sleep myself, while I can.

 

 More to come…..

Paul E. Bailey, a great blogging writer, has created a sister story to this Apocalypse Diary. It’s written in a different style and in a different place but these stories share time and Zombie population. Please give his awesome story a read and continue to follow the characters adventures! Thank you.😊 Click me!!!


25 thoughts on “Just Another Apocalypse Diary Day 12   (Short Story Series)

  1. While I’m glad Gabe has gotten rid of Brittany – I hope she shows back up as a plaguer or something later… I’m a mean girl aren’t I? Yup… I’m a mean girl… lol also those safety group people are asses helping themselves to the food! Grr!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a feeling we will be seeing them, sometime…
      I’m fighting the urge to have her be workin the red light district of the community. It’s not like she can do actual work. But I don’t know if I can be that mean.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol I figured you wouldn’t get rid of her that easily… though, huh! Red light district does sound plausible… if they hadn’t otherwise kicked her out or locked her up for refusing to work or something. Honestly with how quickly she jumped into bed with Tim… Red light work might be what she creates for herself… like “please don’t kick me out! I’ll suck your dick!” Lol

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Glad to see Britters and Tim are off the scene for the time being. It’d be an awful shame if the people they went off with were cannibalistic! Bob doesn’t sound like he’s got much longer left :-/ I think that’d really affect Gabe if he were to die. She’s clearly very attached to him. I feel that something major is on the horizon too. I frickin’ love this story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping I don’t have to kill him off.😟
      The lovely couple being gone is hopefully going to open up a space for something/someone else but we’ll see.
      Thank you for saying you love it!😀
      This story has been easier to write than any of the others. More fun also. Hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think my loving it was pretty much a given anyway, but I felt like reaffirming the fact 😉
        Great stories are always easier to write. Enjoying writing them is a natural byproduct. I can’t wait to come back around to it.
        I’m definitely intrigued to see who/what else she might encounter. I’m assuming a hunt for a decent source of food will become necessary soon

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Tim is just getting douchier and douchier. It’d serve him right if he feels bad if Bob kicks it before he comes back. Poor Gabe, though. She would be very upset if Bob doesn’t make it. But it would make sense if he goes sooner rather than later. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Im in a huge slump storywise. Hopefully I will get back on this sooner rather than when everyones forgotten the past plot. Lol
      Yes, but Tim’s a predictable douche. Haha I haven’t decided yet if Bobs gonna kick the bucket. Maybe thats why I cant move on with it. I don’t want to kill him off.😣

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I won’t lie, I would agree. However, I do understand that this is the Zombie Apocalypse. And old men died of pneumonia even before the ZA. At least if he has to go she will have a shoulder to lean on.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

