Fickle You (Poem)

via Daily Prompt: Slur

My will crumbled and whispered your name. I kept it waiting and now it has strength.

Repeatedly, it’s pulled from my mouth like a string. I am beyond fighting.

A loathsome whimper slips past and traces my cheek in a tear. I scramble to keep it together.

Lamenting a murdered hope; a promise of forever. You’ve left me the mess.

Pleas for mercy stumble out, slurred by a twisted weeping rage. I scream in fury.

Sobbing breaths clear away what you left behind; a discarded soul. I wipe my face.

With a firm hand I smother creeping ideas of possibility and positivity. I must.

You won’t be back and I’m just another hollowed survivor of your love. 

.

.

Picture is from, Isaiah Stephens

 

17 thoughts on “Fickle You (Poem)

  1. How can such a pretty and happy smiling face tap into such pain expressed in this piece? This is emotionally painful to read but it is so only because of how wonderfully you captured and expressed this sorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankfully I have a strong imagination, a long happy marriage, and have never experienced heartbreak of the romantic kind. I like to role play and put myself in others shoes. Imagine what they feel and write of that.
      Thank you for the complements to my picture and for your wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it.😆

      Liked by 2 people

  2. If he’s not coming back it won’t be long before Fickle You becomes a rallying cry of something similar… 😉
    Nice piece, Kira with use of language befitting the horror of reaching the stop just as the last bus has pulled away 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is like a succinct poetic version of Kierkegaard’s “The Seducer’s Diary” told from the female’s perspective. I’m assuming of course that wasn’t your intention as I can’t imagine you’ve read “The Seducer’s Diary”, but nonetheless that was what I got from this. Take these kudos’ and enjoy them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nothing beats actually reading the story though. It’s very old fashioned (obviously as it was written in Victorian Denmark), but the story is very compelling. Kierkegaard’s style of writing was way ahead of its time. Naturally I suppose given as he is the godfather of existentialism.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It sounded a bit icky to me to be honest. Not to say it isn’t a great book. Call me a schmuck but I like a happy ending. So if he dies at the end in a horrible way. I may read it then. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I wouldn’t even say it was emotionally icky. It’s very much told of the mind-set of a man who’s at peace with being a seducer and doesn’t waste much time feeling bad over it. He’s a dick, but he’s not in denial about the fact he’s a dick.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

