Bubbles Free (Poem)

My escape is a warm weightless cocoon. I sink and disappear completely from the realities that nip at my consciousness. 

Steam spreads shivers along my spine and pours out with a fog, masking the harsh world. 

I am nothing but a leaf floating along the river of sublime oblivion. A voice travels from a different dimension to my submerged ears. “Will you stay in until you wrinkle?”

I nod while adream. I will grasp my illusion of serenity with both pruned hands until there is no hot water to be had.

My drug is this liquid grace that holds me safe and happy and hidden away for as long as I like.

I am cleaned.

.

Amazingly, the art is not a photo but a graphite drawing done by Melissa Cooke.

10 thoughts on “Bubbles Free (Poem)

Leave a Reply

