You Again?! (Poem)

You lit an ember and now it sears as it rolls around inside me. 

Reach into my chest and dig your fingers in, just clenching.

Fill my lungs with filthy air, barely enough to feed my body. 

Invade my thoughts, whispering “I’m going to hurt you”, never disappointing. 

Make me sick and tired in such a way that it feels there is no remedy.

You wake me in a darkened room, held down and screaming mutely.

You should be avoided, I know…

But how, when I create you as a punishment to myself? 

.

#AnxietySucks.

The painting was done by my daughter. 

3 thoughts on “You Again?! (Poem)

Leave a Reply

